General Category > General Discussion

How much does your bowl cost?

<< < (2/6) > >>

Doug Barratt:
I agree at face value it does seem foolish to loose money on a piece.

That said how long do you hold onto a piece if it`s not selling?
Also whilst the present price may be £24 he may have bought the timber years ago, I certainly have blanks that I bought 7 years ago that still have the price on & they were considerably cheaper than I`d have to pay today.

There are lots of reasons why people do craft fairs & sell at the prices they do & whilst I might think they undersell themselves I don`t see it as my right to criticise them.
Indeed I have no knowledge of their situation, I once wrote some articles for woodwork magazines when work was thin on the ground in 2009, the money was pathetic for the work involved but I had a family to keep so I did it, I also at that time sold some of my wood turning at lower prices than I`d have liked but that was the situation I found myself in.

It`s easy to criticise & belittle others when we don`t know the reasoning behind their actions.

Cheers.    

woody:
This subject could be quite a mine field I have sold at craft fairs, flower festivals,school fetes and in Galleries and to be honest I have seen some very good quality workmanship and some very shoddy workmanship in all of them and some dodgy prices at both ends of the scale.