Author Topic: Oak lidded bowl  (Read 4400 times)

Offline ken rodgers

• bronze
Oak lidded bowl
« on: November 06, 2014, 06:55:07 PM »
Hi All,
At our October club meeting Mark Baker demonstrated making a lidded bowl out of one blank. The lid was cut from the centre of the blank without using a bowl saver.
This is my first attempt- dimension  of bowl 250 diameter and 60 mm deep
Finished in oil
Ken

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Oak lidded bowl
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 09:27:11 PM »
Okay I can go with this.

My first thought was a ladies dressing table pot, and after reading your description it still is. All that's changed is the need for a slightly taller knob to aid lifting off the lid.

The oak looks like it's had cracks and you've filled them, what do you use for that please.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2014, 10:17:49 PM »
nice pot, I like the idea of sitting the lid inside  :)

Ed

Offline ken rodgers

• bronze
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2014, 10:36:38 PM »
Hi Bryan,
I agree it could be called a ladies dressing table pot - it never crossed my mind.
For deep cracks I initially use bandsaw dust and CA medium glue building it up in steps to just below the finished surface. Then I complete the filling to above the surface with fine sanding dust and then sand back to level off.
For the finer cracks I use thin CA gue into the crack and rub fine sanding dust over it. Once dry apply more glue over the crack wipe off excess and sand by hand over it
I collect fine dust in small pots and always use the dust to match the wood ie oak dust on oak.
Regards
Ken

Offline Graham

• platinum
  • Chairman. www.DidcotTurners.club
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2014, 08:34:57 AM »