Author Topic: Novice looking for some advice re Arundel K series headstock maintenance  (Read 4889 times)

Martin E

Hello

I am very new to turning in wood and have sort of inherited a Arundel K450 (HD?)

I have got it running but do not have any manuals etc.  Can anyone give advice on where I can get hold of a copy of a Lathe Manual or advise on maintaining the headstock bearings - deep groove Thrust Bearing.

Thank you in advance

Martin E

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
There is a site called lathes.co.uk, which has information about just about any old lathe ever made. You might try contacting the guy who runs the site.

Offline Lazurus

• platinum
Have you got a particular problem with the bearings? If they are running true with no rumbles or end float perhaps just use the lathe and enjoy learning.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.....

And welcome to the forum.

S.
Living and working on the Norfolk Broads

Martin E

Thank you

I have looked at lathes.co.uk and he does not have the 24 page lathe manual just some sales literature.

The lathe is not particularly noisy - I think - but does get warm (not hot) after an hour or so. 

My background is much larger/rapid metal turning with CNC beasts so I was expecting lots of maintenance needs.

Perhaps not applicable?

Martin E

Offline Roger Groom

• bronze
Hi Martin
I have had one of these lathes for over 40 years and has never been a problem. Bearings are sealed for life, so as suggested until it starts jumping about etc just enjoy it. If you think that it gets warm, you should feel Record DML 305!!!!!
Roger G

Martin E

Thank you Roger Good to know!

I note the difference, the modern twin spindle CNC often does not last 5 years and has to be nursed!

Martin E

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns