Author Topic: Pierced beech bowl  (Read 1817 times)

Offline Tony Kairo

• copper
Pierced beech bowl
« on: April 17, 2016, 12:59:41 PM »
Hi all, this is my first post as I am new to the forum.  A short introduction - I've been turning for quite a while and have been posting to social media for the last couple of years,so some may have already seen my work.  I am a hobbyist turner and now, after taking early retirement, I'm able to enjoy my hobby most days.  I am looking forward to being an active member of the forum and here's my latest turning.  9 x 2.5in pierced beech bowl.  The rim is around 3mm thick and finished with shellac and wax. 

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Pierced beech bowl
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 01:33:14 PM »
Hi Tony

The piercings need cleaning up in my opinion piercings only work if they are crisp and clean

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline ChrisF

• gold
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2016, 02:36:33 PM »
Hi Tony and welcome to the forum, it's always good to see new faces and new work.  Looks like a really clean and unmarked piece of beech - the sort of piece that needs something extra, like your piercing, to give it some life.  Overall I like it, though I'm not a fan of rebates left on the bottom as they tend to make it look heavy and, for me, unfinished.  Looks like a terrific finish you've got there and whilst the piercing could perhaps be a little cleaner it does work for me.

It's not clear from the photo, but it looks like the colour on the bead by the rim might have bled a bit - or is that just shadow?

Hope to see more of your work soon.

Chris

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2016, 03:19:16 PM »