Author Topic: Absolute Beginner  (Read 3015 times)

Offline Grasbylee

• iron
Absolute Beginner
« on: June 09, 2016, 06:44:21 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I have just registered on the forum and I'm looking for some advice for a complete (but enthusiastic) novice based on the border of Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire in a small village somewhere between Scunthorpe, Grimsby and Lincoln. I work 4 days a week, have a very busy wife and two kids who are getting to the age where I'm not that interesting all the time, so I finally have the chance to try this - I've only been thinking about it for about 10 years!!!!

I have started getting my gear together after reading your forums and many, many woodworking/woodturning magazines to get an idea of where to start. Also I've been hitting Youtube hard to see the different techniques, lathes and tools from around the world.

I am in the process of getting my first lathe, grinder and tools and from discussions on here the equipment should be ok for my novice status. The only thing I am struggling with is somewhere to go (within reasonable driving distance) to be taught the basics and may be even beyond that if I catch the bug - any help on who or where I could find out this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to getting involved in the discussion on here once I have actually had a go!

Cheers
Lee

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Absolute Beginner
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 08:13:11 PM »
Hi Lee...and welcome to the world of wood turning.

All over the UK there are wood-turning clubs, some are affiliated to the AWGB, some are just associated with them, and then there are those that have no direct connection with the AWGB at all. In your area it looks as though the best club for you is the North Lincs Woodturners Association at Scunthorpe. I would heartily recommend that you contact them and arrange to attend their meetings...the email address is bvwalker45@yahoo.co.uk.