Author Topic: Home Dried Timber  (Read 6768 times)

Terry Lawson

Home Dried Timber
« on: August 01, 2016, 11:12:15 AM »
I'm relatively new to wood turning and over the last 12 months have started collecting pieces of timber from neighbour's gardens etc.

I have several pieces of apple, pear, eucalyptus, coppiced beech and what I believe to be holly.

What is the best (cheapest way) to get this timber home dried to a usable condition?
Currently the timber has had the bark left on and the ends sealed with a couple of coats of polyurethane varnish and I'm keeping under weather proof cover in my external sawn timber store.
Did I ought to remove the bark and sapwood (turn off or bandsaw) to speed up the drying procedure?

The pieces range from 3"  to 9" diameter and vary in length from  about 8" to 24"

I haven't decided what I will produce from the pieces so can't turn them green to approximate finished size

At the start of this message I said I have what I believe to be holly, not sure, but I've attached a pic showing the timber a very small of cut of which I've tuned to roughly turned to about 2" x 4", the larger portion has a "smooth" bark which has changed colour to a purple/brown colour.

I would really appreciate any assistance as I'm still new to this game.

Regards

Terry Lawson

Offline Lazurus

• platinum
Re: Home Dried Timber
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 11:29:02 AM »
I think you may have picked difficult fruit woods to start your supply, in my experience all the fruit woods are difficult to season and are renowned for splitting, I use a chainsaw mill and recently did some pear which looked lovely, however even when milled then cut on the band saw and sealed with wax 50% are checking and may be lost.Keep you stocks out of the rain and sun and with a good airflow to assist drying.

The wood you show is not Holly, which is very pale / white with a greenish tinge as it dries, it may be Laburnum which is a nice wood to turn.

S.