Author Topic: Gouges with removable tips?  (Read 3609 times)

Offline MalvernMichael

• iron
Gouges with removable tips?
« on: January 30, 2018, 06:24:52 PM »
Ok, I am new to this but I keep seeing gouges with removable tips, what are the pro’s and cons and should I buy them as I am a born again Turner after a long absence.
Bought my lathe on Saturday off this forum but don’t have any gouges yet.
Michael

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Gouges with removable tips?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 08:17:51 PM »
Hi...are you sure that you're seeing gouges with removable tips? I suspect that what you've really seen is carbide tips, which fall into two types, those that cut and those that scrape. The type that cut are usually circular, shaped a bit like a thick washer, with a bevel extending around its edge and a dished shape on the upper face....these are usually used for hollowing. The type that scrape come in a range of sizes, the most common being tear-drop scrapers, but also diamond, square and circular. All of these have a slight bevel on the edge and a flat top face.
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 09:44:03 PM »
Carbatec have replacable tips that some Aussie and New Zealand turners use. Not seen them in the UK though.

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2018, 08:49:34 AM »
Personally I buy kit with the least amount of gimmicks, that way it lasts longer and you get better value for money.

Offline Lazurus

• platinum
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2018, 10:09:11 AM »
Personally I buy kit with the least amount of gimmicks, that way it lasts longer and you get better value for money.