Author Topic: Drive centre stuck in headstock - help please  (Read 5889 times)

Offline Dancie

• bronze
Drive centre stuck in headstock - help please
« on: May 26, 2018, 03:59:39 PM »
Hello all, I am an enthusiastic amateur,

I have a Jet 3520B lathe,

The 4 prong drive centre is stuck in the headstock,

I've tried hitting the knock out bar with a mallet but this hasn't shifted it,

Three questions if I may:

First any ideas on what to do next please?,

Second by hitting the knock out bar hard and several times am I doing any damage to the headstock i.e. the bearings?

Third how can I make sure this doesn't happen again?

This happened once before about a year ago with a different drive centre ( I think ) that one cleared after a few heavy wacks but this time its much more suborn, it looks like it might be there to stay,

Any help or advice please - many thanks - Dancie
Mistakes are proof that at least you're trying

Offline Wood spinner

• platinum
Re: Drive centre stuck in headstock - help please
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2018, 07:34:58 PM »
You say mallet ? a wooden one ?

Try a 5lb club hammer

When yo used the 4 prong drive did you hammer it into the wood before putting it in the lathe ? or did you wind the tailstock up until the 4 prong drive embedded itself into the wood , I suspect the latter

Re getting stuck again all I can suggest is some fine valve grinding paste and lap the 2 surfaces and hope it doesent get stuck again , Once the 4 prong drove is hammered in manually it only needs enough tension on the tail stock to hold it in place

good luck  ;)

Offline Paul Hannaby

• platinum
    • Creative Woodturning
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2018, 09:20:53 PM »
Try some penetrating oil, give it 24 hours to soak in then give the knockout bar a good clout! Don't hold back, one good clout will do far less damage than several half hearted blows because once the centre separates, the force on it isn't acting on the spindle.

Offline Dancie

• bronze