Author Topic: What tree / wood is thgis question  (Read 2949 times)

Offline windfall

• copper
What tree / wood is thgis question
« on: January 28, 2019, 02:44:05 PM »
Hello fellow turners, I'm a novice to the craft. I've decided to make some blanks from felled trees this year so going to need some advice on drying etc later. I live in a nice rural part of the Fylde coast and friends with a few local farmers. I asked them over a beer the other night if they where trimming or felling some trees to please drop me  some off and in return I would make something for them. So far I have a full sycamore tree and I think crab apple trunk. But I returned today to find the logs in the pictures left at the back of my shed and I thinks its Elm but I'm really new at the tree spotting arts and was wondering if anyone knows what it was ?

bodrighywood : If you are new to woodturning you will quickly realise that if you ask 10 woodturners a question you will get a minimum of 11 answers

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
Re: What tree / wood is thgis question
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2019, 05:02:57 PM »
A bit hard to tell from the pictures, but I think I can see some very rapid growth in the top picture, and that together with the bark would lead me to think this is ash.

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2019, 05:53:59 PM »
I agree with Fuzzy....it certainly looks like ash, on a number of counts.

One important issue.....in future, avoid cutting the logs up as thought they were being prepared for firewood, i.e. in pieces short enough for the fireplace. In a nutshell, wood loses moisture rapidly from its end grain, which is where most of the cracking will take place. When you buck your logs into short rounds, such as these, the cracks can soon render the whole piece unusable. If you keep the logs in good lengths and seal the ends to slow down the end-grain evaporation, you'll get considerably more usable timber out of them.