Author Topic: Can I teach myself woodturning?  (Read 4234 times)

Offline Cookster

• iron
Can I teach myself woodturning?
« on: January 27, 2019, 09:54:14 AM »
Hi I am a newbie and would like to start turning I have quite a bit of woodworking kit but haven't purchased a lathe as yet as I live in rural Andalusia and would probably have to get one from the UK and as I said in a previous post we have lot's of olive wood here.

My question is, is turning something I can teach myself? I am very keen but there are no resources where we live what so ever, I have done a lot of research and have a good idea of what kit I need and what's involved, I know there's a lot of skilled turners on here so it would be good to know how you started out and how long it took to learn these new skills.

My better half has already expressed her doubts, like hope this is't another of your five minute wonder etc.... (you know the score)

Cheers

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Can I teach myself woodturning?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 10:02:40 AM »
As it would be difficult for you have Tuition a good start would me to get the Mark baker book from Amazon Woodturning a Craftsmans Guide it is very well written backed up with a three hour DVD

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline Cookster

• iron
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 10:05:10 AM »
Thanks George will check it out.

Offline JollyJim

• bronze
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 10:53:36 AM »
Hi

I started on the lathe with no tuition or help, advice whatsoever. I made
many many mistakes, some I learned from and some I did'nt. But, I
had a great appetite for continuing because I found the craft so
inspiring.

I was surprised at how much equipment I needed, although,
looking back, with advice I would have needed much less. Also, the
likes of this forum, youtube and the help available, I would have
progressed much faster with far fewer cut fingers and bits of wood