Author Topic: Cracks after turning. PLEASE HELP!  (Read 6662 times)

Offline Wayne39uk

• iron
Re: Cracks after turning. PLEASE HELP!
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2019, 11:20:03 AM »
Thanks again for all your help guys. Had no idea about moisture meters (told you I was a newbie), purchased one today. The main type of wood ive been using has actually been Yew, so interesting to see a few of you saying its a bit prone to cracks. Im not at the level of turning bowls just yet, have only really been making bases for LED night lights. Tried to upload a pic just now but the file size was too big.
I know this isn't related to my original question but do any of you have contact details for reliable log/blank sellers?
Really am so happy with the amount of help ive received from you all in such a short space of time.
 :)

Offline Tim Pettigrew

• bronze
    • Converting a garage to a woodturning workshop
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2019, 11:49:16 AM »
Hello Wayne

My approach to this problem (after rough turning) is not to use a moisture meter but to weigh the wood weekly.  As long as the wood is losing weight then you know it still contains excess water.  When there is no further change then the moisture content is in equilibrium with the atmospheric moisture content and the wood is ready for final turning. 

I have a web page (ACCESS HERE) dedicated to this approach which hopefully may be of help. 

Tim

Offline Derek

• platinum
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2019, 12:40:00 PM »

I know this isn't related to my original question but do any of you have contact details for reliable log/blank sellers?

Have a look at Home of Wood

Offline burywoodturners

• gold
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2019, 05:03:53 PM »
Wayne, yew is prone to cracking if you over heat it, sanding can make the wood hot enough to get 'crazing' lots of minor cracks which you cannot sand out!
It might help to slow the work don when sanding.