Author Topic: Lathe Vibration  (Read 2379 times)

Offline Maca

• iron
Lathe Vibration
« on: March 29, 2019, 09:38:05 AM »
I'm new to wood turning so need some advice on turning rough blanks.  I have an Elektra Beckum HDM1000 lathe which I made a wooden bench to sit on.  The bench is fixed to a concrete wall at the back but the legs at the front are not bolted down.

Recently I got a few beech logs which I cut into rough blanks with a chainsaw as my bandsaw is too small for the size of logs.  So the blanks are not terribly well balanced but not too bad.  I've just about managed to rough out the outside of a bowl (approx. 12") but the lathe was vibrating a lot.  It doesn't help that the lathe is fixed speeds so at its slowest its at 300 RPM. 

Anyway, for future ones I plan on finding the centre of mass of the blank more accurately but I'm also thinking about bolting the lathe down and wanted peoples opinion on this.

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
Re: Lathe Vibration
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2019, 12:00:38 PM »
i would add weight to the lathe rather than putting bolts everywhere.

the extra mass will make it more difficult for out of balanced items to rock your lathe.

Offline Twisted Trees

• platinum
  • Bristol, UK
    • Twisted Trees
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2019, 12:14:49 PM »
12" not quite balanced will vibrate at 300rpm no matter what you do, it is why lathes need weight. adding your workshop to the weight of the lathe and bench with brackets may help, but it will still be vibrating until you get it in balance. Which will be stressing your bench and brackets, so if you do it use heavy ones with good fixings.

I would be starting at about 150rpm maybe even less, and even then I would expect some vibration when starting with that load attached.

Trick is to then get in in balance quickly, and starting from the best center will help that.
TT, AKA Pete, but that name is taken :-)

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren