Author Topic: What Finishes  (Read 2273 times)

Offline Cookster

• iron
What Finishes
« on: May 24, 2019, 02:22:40 PM »
Hi All

I am new to woodturning and have just purchased a second hand lathe in the UK and tools etc, I live in Spain and need to get it shipped over I'm in the UK next week and need to get some finishes and abrasives to send with the lathe, I will be mainly using olive wood and only want basic stuff to start with as I'm on a bit of a budget what would you suggest I purchase?

Salud

Cookster

Offline Dave Brookes

• bronze
Re: What Finishes
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 02:24:04 PM »
Where about will you be when you are over?

Dave
"Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen pounds nineteen shillings and six pence, result happiness."  (Wilkins Micawber)

Offline Cookster

• iron
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 04:13:01 PM »
Norfolk then I have to transport the lathe and stuff to Coventry for a mate to bring over in his van

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2019, 04:38:33 PM »
why not use the opportunity to bring some olivewood with you?

plenty of people will be in line to buy it....

Offline Cookster

• iron
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2019, 05:37:59 PM »
Yes so I'm told so much of it here mostly used for wood burners (estufas) in the winter I have 3 tons coming soon will cost around 200 euro and a friend is also getting me some free stuff, lovely wood very dense and heavy.

Cookster

Offline Cookster

• iron
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2019, 05:42:49 PM »
What's it like to work with anyone had any experience with olive wood?

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2019, 07:24:56 PM »
Yes, I've used it.
Under a sharp tool with a good bevel contact it cuts beautifully, and leave a great finish, because of the oil content.

But use cutting tools, not the new scraper systems to get a good 'off the tool' finish.