Author Topic: Help! How to stop fungus rot without causing splitting?  (Read 1770 times)

Offline timfolkard

• iron
Help! How to stop fungus rot without causing splitting?
« on: May 29, 2019, 07:16:10 PM »
I'm new to this game, but have recently acquired some big pieces from a 200 year old beech tree.  There's some nice spalting, but the fungus is obviously still active - mycelium oozing out of the ends (despite PVA I applied).  On the other hand, small radial cracks are appearing, which suggests that it's drying out too fast.  How can I stop the fungus before it turns the whole lot to mush?  Should I cut it into blanks and hope for the best?

The two main pieces are roughly 45cm X 45cm (outside surface with bark) by 25cm thick.  Tree was nearly 2 metres in diameter!

Thanks,
Tim

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
Re: Help! How to stop fungus rot without causing splitting?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2019, 07:51:20 PM »
Wow, not something I have ever come across but I'm sure someone will have. Be interested to see the replies to this one.

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline Twisted Trees

• platinum
  • Bristol, UK
    • Twisted Trees
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2019, 08:44:14 PM »
The fungus will stop when the wood is dry, leaving it's pattern behind. Cut it into blanks to speed the drying may be your best way forward, also stack it to get maximum airflow

Incidentally sealing the end grain is not to stop the wood drying, but to slow it in that direction and enable a balance throughout the wood
TT, AKA Pete, but that name is taken :-)

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2019, 09:13:52 AM »