General Category > General Discussion

Turning "good practice"

(1/7) > >>

apw99:
Hi Folks,
I have been turning for a few years and have only had a few brief lessons at the very start, so I am self-taught. I like the artistic aspect of turning rather than being the perfectionist. I tend to like to turn chunky bowls which are quite thick, I leave any holes, bark or features that I possibly can. I even made a goblet once which cracked and I stitched it up with copper wire and it went down a treat!
However I am interested in what is considered 'good practice' or considered 'correct'? Some things I believe I have heard are
- Thinner is better
- remove the divot
- never use varnish
etc etc...
I am just wondering what you guys as well accomplished turners regard as 'good practice'
Thanks - stay safe.

bodrighywood:
You are talking design not turning practice and there are no set rules. Thinner for exmple is fine of you want to lmpress other turners or make lampshades but not a lot of use if you are making things for use such as a goblegt or fruit bowl. As a proturner I make lots of pieces with holes, splits etc, also lots of things without. At the end of day the main rule should be is it fit for purpose and if it is meant to be decorative only then that is totally up to the individual. I have a gallery of my work on my website and to be honest some of the things I have made, in hindsight, I am not keen on at all but they sold, someone liked them. Only thing I would say is whatever you make do it to the best quality you can.

Pete

seventhdevil:
Pete is right you are mostly talking design with you question so you can do what you like and finish it how you want.
personally i still go by "the only rule is, there are no rules"

Twisted Trees: