Author Topic: Rules for a beautiful vase  (Read 9815 times)

Offline Sevilla

• bronze
Rules for a beautiful vase
« on: March 28, 2015, 02:23:14 AM »
I would like to propose a discussion on the rulses for a beautiful vase. In general it is said the the master formula for a pleasing shape is the golden ratio: divide or moltiply a measure by 1.618 and you get a pleasing proportion.
Then there is the rule of the thirds: divide a space or measure in three and you get a pleasing proportion. The foot of a bowl should be 1/3 of its diameter.
Now I'm no expert of course in chinese pottery but I love that little I've seen. Different from the roman/greek pottery or the european one. In many cases the rule of the thirds seems to apply but in some of my preferred vase I do not see it. Here are two examples taken casually from the internet.
I love their proportions. Where do they fit in the general rules?

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
Re: Rules for a beautiful vase
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2015, 07:14:26 AM »
Sevilla I think these sit in the golden rule if you take the main body it's around 60% of the piece the foot and the rim take the other 40% between them.

The golden rule is nearer 60/40 than thirds I think that people use thirds as it's a simpler way to split the work up.

Ed

Offline Sevilla

• bronze
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2015, 01:19:11 PM »
Ed, It is difficult to measure from pictures but the proportion of the goldem rule can be approximate by 8 and 5. The first vase, easier to measure has a diameter of 11.5 inch and a base of 4.5 inch and should have been 7 inch for the golden rule and 3.8 by the rule of thirds. The second vase has these measures, 8, 6 and 3.5 which to me are away from the golden rule
My point is that these rules must be interpreted very loosely and other factors, not always easy to notice are in play to determine the effect on the eye of certain shape.

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning