Author Topic: Does it exist?  (Read 2417 times)

Offline V8-108

• iron
Does it exist?
« on: July 24, 2021, 07:33:47 PM »
Hi everyone, newbie to both the forum and the hobby here. I have long admired some turned items I was given many years ago and have always harboured a desire to have a go myself. I have now taken the plunge and have a couple of basic/generic lathes which, in reality, I ought to be happy with at the stage I'm at within the hobby (complete beginner right at the start of the journey!) but I always want something better which may (or may not!) help me be a bit better.
I'm looking for something to "future proof" myself to an extent, that will take me to a better level without having to upgrade again with some pretty specific features after the research I have done so far.
I think my requirements are digital variable speed, cast bed, 2MT head and tail stocks, hand wheel on tail stock and either a swivel head stock or and outboard turning capacity. Not too worried about length as my current interest is in bowl type turning, though the ability to add a bed extension at a later date would be a good option. I want all of this at a budget price.....am I dreaming or does something exist that fits my bill......and if it does, what is it likely to cost me in the real world?
Thanks in advance

Neil

Offline Bill21

• platinum
Re: Does it exist?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2021, 09:18:47 PM »
Have a look at Hope Lathes Neil.

https://hopewoodturning.co.uk/lathes/ks-lathes/

Or the Axminster equivalents?

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2021, 10:19:00 PM »