Author Topic: Experiment with laminated paper  (Read 4274 times)

Paul Disdle

Experiment with laminated paper
« on: January 11, 2013, 11:54:43 AM »

I am a novice turner who is experimenting with what can be produced on a lathe. This dish which started as a bowl until the blank broke in two due to a area of poor glueing, was made from a laminated catalogue. Its time consuming to produce the blank and does take a long time to dry, but it turns easily. This was done mainly with a scraper as a gouge seemed to tare (possible down to not enough glue). The sides turn better than the flat internal bottom which I could not get totally smooth. The piece was then waxed on the inside.

Please feel free to give me as much advice as possible

Paul

thebowlerhattedturner

Re: Experiment with laminated paper
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2013, 04:35:08 PM »
Hello Paul,
             I applaud your experimental turning using laminated paper, as we lose more trees we may all be doing this soon. I'm afraid this does not rock my boat, perhaps if it were made from blocks of different coloured paper it might be different but on this occasion it is not for me. I do wonder though if it was turned a bit thinner and laquered if it would look like the Chinese(?) papier mache' work.
Regards
John BHT

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2013, 06:49:52 PM »

If I recall correctly woodturning mag. reported on and tested laminated color paper blanks for turning made by a green company recycling waste paper and cardboard.

It would take some trawling to find as to who they were and if they're still in business ... then there's money in waste, so could still be trying to market the blanks.

Cheers     David

"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

Offline john taylor

• bronze
    • John Taylor Woodturner
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2013, 10:57:08 PM »