Author Topic: Advice on Wood finishing  (Read 12834 times)

Offline Haggy

• bronze
  • "You can keep your ashes in that " Wife
Advice on Wood finishing
« on: February 15, 2014, 06:40:37 AM »
I am a design teacher and am puzzled as to why one of my students can't achieve a natural looking, glossy finish on the end grain of what I take to be Leylandii.  The wood is well seasoned.  My advice to her was to seal the end grain with cellulose sealer, flattening between coats. I was going to advise her to spray the surface with a melamine lacquer or buff with friction polish after the end grain had been filled.
What puzzles me after 18 coats of cellulose sanding sealer we still haven't achieved a totally sealed surface (see pic).  The surface remains patchy.
The temptation is to give up and move onto the next stage, but I also know wood turners frequently have this problem and get over it. I really don't want to be beaten by this and would really appreciate any advice.
          Thank you very much.        Haggy

Offline Derwent Woodturning club

• bronze
    • Derwent Woodturning Club
Re: Advice on Wood finishing
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2014, 08:59:19 AM »
Hi Haggy,