Author Topic: Wood In Resin problems  (Read 6840 times)

slackbladder

Wood In Resin problems
« on: March 21, 2014, 07:47:22 PM »
Hi
 I am new to this so bare with me
I have been experimenting with different resins to set wood in.I have found that polyester resin shrinks and will not adhere to timber,Polyurethane resin is badly affected by moisture in the timber and even makes the Alumilite polyurethane resin froth
 That only leaves Epoxy resin.Has anybody had any experience with Epoxy resins as the only ones I can find seem to be in the States
 I am trying to make the hybrid type of pen blanks etc and fill in voids in wood that would fall apart if turned.Seen lots of you tube clips and they all use alumilite which even when I get it to work it is very soft and hard to get a finish on
 Help

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Wood In Resin problems
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2014, 08:33:32 PM »
Slack,

don't know if you pocked upon this posting in 'Tool tips & reviews' It's a primer by an Aussie turner of the different substances/resins  that can be used.

http://www.awgb.co.uk/awgbforum/index.php/topic,2062.0.html
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

slackbladder

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2014, 10:19:33 PM »
Terrific video and really helpful.Trouble id you can't buy that in the uk .Does anyone know of an equivalant

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2014, 12:16:04 AM »
Hi

Try this stuff http://www.axminster.co.uk/z-poxy-epoxy-resin I've used it mixed with the brass power and turn a large platter and it seem's to have worked fine

Ed

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2014, 06:13:29 AM »