General Category > General Discussion

new to the list. hi all.

(1/2) > >>

theblindwoodturner:
Hi all.

I'm new to the list and thought I'd say hi. My name's Lew, I'm a blind professional woodturner from North Wales and thought I'd find a nice home to join, give some ideas, tuition and above all create plenty of gerbil friendly shavings etc.

have a great day / evening, etc.

lew

Martin Lawrence:
Hi Lew,

Welcome to the forum, look forward to your future postings.

Cheers Martin.

woodndesign:

Hi Lew, Welcome to the forum, woodturning and equally, well done in taking on a challenging hobby, which as sighted we can find difficult, if not hazardous with all our scences, a lot is always down to touch, sizing, how smooth a finish, but to think as to closing one eyes or not seeing..
 May I ask as to what degree are you blind, have you gone blind or have you never had a understanding as to shape or colour, it's a thing I could not contemplate even.
 Is there any kind of shaving a Gerbil/Hamster likes best or not at all, other than dry and dust free ????    DON'T mistake Hamsters or Shaving on Toast, don't like the sound of cheese on shaving..     :-[ .....

Take care and happy turning.

David

theblindwoodturner:
Thanks david and martin.

david, you've just made my day lol I've never laughed my socks off so much lol.

I've been blind for over 11 years since I was 15. I won't go into the details of what happened. I don't want to upset anyone or tread on any toes.. I've no memory of colour, pattern, etc but do appreciate shape, form, etc and use a lot of strange and unusual ideas in my work.