Author Topic: Hello from a Newbie  (Read 2310 times)

Offline HillClimb

• copper
Hello from a Newbie
« on: February 02, 2017, 11:27:48 PM »
New member here – and still consider myself a newbie turner. Been turning about 10 months now (when time allows) I enjoy doing small bowls and spindle stuff, but I don’t really enjoy the tiny intricate spindle finials yet (probably due to my lack of skill)  and so far self-taught via books, YT and the excellent DVDs from Glenn Lucas.
Based in Aylesbury, Bucks and have been to a few of the informal “Tuesday Turners” Club meets at Axminster High Wycombe and hoping to attend/join the club at Milton Keynes in the Spring. I am turning on a Axminster AVSL1000 which is crude but good to learn on – hope to get something bigger and heavy maybe one day.
I have a somewhat unique situation in that we took early retirement and we have a holiday home in Quebec Canada, so we spend a chunk of every year there and I have a small midi bench top lathe there too, it is the Rikon original which the UK Record DML320 is a clone of.
So my UK turning is all seasoned blanks etc (which all seems expensive to me) then in Canada I’m surrounded by acres of forest (mainly Maple, & Birch (both White and Yellow)) and I routinely fell/chunk and split 3 or 4 EOL/SDW trees for winter firewood so I am now laying aside any burls, crotches etc and I have a few buried under leaves hopefully to spalt. So I am hoping to gain some proficiency at turning green wood. – both roughing out->dry->re-turn but also turn it wet super-thin. Also aiming to master hook-tool greenwood end grain hollowing.
Photos are many of the things made to date
« Last Edit: February 02, 2017, 11:35:32 PM by HillClimb »
"Art begins when an observer's sensibilities engage with the understatements of a calculating craftsman" - Sara Genn

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Hello from a Newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 07:54:08 AM »