Author Topic: Sick band saw....  (Read 2599 times)

Offline ChrisF

• gold
Sick band saw....
« on: February 14, 2017, 03:57:55 PM »
Gave the old band saw a good work out today and it's now complaining.  Basically it won't start....hit the start button and it hums but doesn't start.  If I spin the wheel it goes fine at full speed & power, but it won't start on it's own (I'm aware of the H&S implications of having the doors open and spinning the wheel manually to get it started but have carried out a full risk assessment and am perfectly happy with it  ;D).

Any clues as to what needs repairing/replacing?

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
Re: Sick band saw....
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 04:05:06 PM »
i'm no expert so i expect to be corrected but that sounds like the motor is not going to last long?

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2017, 04:20:04 PM »
Since this is probably a single-phase machine, it would need a capacitor to start the engine in the right direction, and I suspect that's the problem. Capacitors do age more than other components. Should be easy to fix, and not cost the world.

Offline ChrisF

• gold
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2017, 06:09:53 PM »
Thanks guys, capacitor ordered.  Will see if that does the trick.

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2017, 07:23:52 PM »
I'm a little late joining in to this thread, but I certainly agree that it'll be the capacitor. My big old pillar drill suffered exactly this problem several months ago. Curiously, after starting it a few times by spinning the chuck by hand, it recovered and now works perfectly.
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2017, 07:42:06 PM »
And I also say change the Motor Start Capacitor if as you say, once you start it it keeps going.