Author Topic: Beginner here. Advice please.  (Read 2964 times)

Offline Bern01

• iron
Beginner here. Advice please.
« on: May 23, 2017, 07:41:34 PM »
I will very much appreciate advice please.

I've tried to find a beginners guide here without success but my apologies if there us one.

I found the group through buying The Foundation course book.
I tried to compare machines/specifications for lathes within my £200 budget
But as I'm not too sure what I'm specifically interested in I jumped in the deep
End and bought a SIP 01488 two Sundays ago.
It's got a wood turning chuck and a 4 jaw chuck along with various other
Accessories and tools.
I used a 5x1 1/2" blank on Sunday from Stiles & Bates and turned and bored/gouged
A small lamp base which I  sealed (cellulose) then waxed (Canuba/Beeswax).
My wife is very impressed and I'm pleased.

My next attempt was with Lime just because it is so soft, I wanted to
Compare working on the two woods.

My third I plan to turn in Cherry to see how the colour and grain compares.

As I work 6 days a week, 3 of those away, I can't get to the local club (Hemel Hempstead).

So can anyone please suggest a Beginners site/forum/group?

If not apart from reading books and watching Youtube, what would be a good
Source for guidance on how I might progress and learn in stages
Preferably including producing small items of increasing complexity as my
Skill and experience develops.

Sorry to be so lengthy.
Thank you for looking,
Bernard

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
Re: Beginner here. Advice please.
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 08:34:45 PM »
Hi Bernard