Author Topic: Original Work?  (Read 4838 times)

Offline APH

• bronze
    • My Instagram turning feed
Re: Original Work?
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2018, 11:56:52 AM »
I have been doing this for 12 years so believe me I do know what I am talking about.
Sure and many of us here will have been running our own businesses for much longer than that. What happens is that people tend to know a lot about their own personal situation which is likely to be different to other people's.

The fact remains it's not any sort of obligation to register as a sole trader in this situation.

Offline Davidm

• iron
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2018, 12:25:04 PM »
Hello Guys and thanks for all the replies.

I have decided not to sell that particular item as the shape in my eye was just too similar.  I will just have to put that one down to experience.

Thanks again

Dave

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2018, 04:21:32 PM »
I hope you are not making things in wood, I make things in wood and that was my idea first!! ;D ;D ;D

Offline John Plater

• gold
« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2018, 10:30:44 AM »
I cannot but agree with the technicalities of the information offered. And for me it was no big deal. For the last eleven years I have sold through a number of contexts from major national exhibitions through to a table top in a church hall and have worked to commissions acquired in person or through my website. I keep an excel spreadsheet of the activity and though I don't need to, I use an accountant as they know best what to do with the numbers. I would be the first to admit that I am only "playing at it" to top up my pension but I have gained the satisfaction and peace of mind through doing things properly
If I had a better lathe, I would be able to show my ineptitude more effectively.

Offline Mark Hancock

• bronze
    • Mark Hancock
« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2018, 12:07:19 PM »