General Category > General Discussion

Does it exist?

(1/4) > >>

V8-108:
Hi everyone, newbie to both the forum and the hobby here. I have long admired some turned items I was given many years ago and have always harboured a desire to have a go myself. I have now taken the plunge and have a couple of basic/generic lathes which, in reality, I ought to be happy with at the stage I'm at within the hobby (complete beginner right at the start of the journey!) but I always want something better which may (or may not!) help me be a bit better.
I'm looking for something to "future proof" myself to an extent, that will take me to a better level without having to upgrade again with some pretty specific features after the research I have done so far.
I think my requirements are digital variable speed, cast bed, 2MT head and tail stocks, hand wheel on tail stock and either a swivel head stock or and outboard turning capacity. Not too worried about length as my current interest is in bowl type turning, though the ability to add a bed extension at a later date would be a good option. I want all of this at a budget price.....am I dreaming or does something exist that fits my bill......and if it does, what is it likely to cost me in the real world?
Thanks in advance

Neil

Bill21:
Have a look at Hope Lathes Neil.

https://hopewoodturning.co.uk/lathes/ks-lathes/

Or the Axminster equivalents?

The Bowler Hatted Turner: