Author Topic: New member introduction  (Read 2841 times)

Gary_Claus

New member introduction
« on: March 31, 2012, 09:29:13 AM »
Hello to all,

My name is Gary and I live in Clanfield in Southern Hampshire.  I am an amateur woodturner (very amateur) but very keen to improve.  I work overseas so do not get the 'shed time' I would wish.

I am 44 and grey - which is apparently a prerequisite for being a turner.

Many years ago I used to turn but family, space, money and work got in the way so stopped for a long while.  I used to visit the Forest of Bere Woodturners in Denmead along with a friend but haven't been for years.  I saw some wonderfully talented people and even wrote for their magazine a few times.

I use a Record Lathe with limited tools (more will come along as I progress undoubtedly) but have had some success with spindle turning which I favour and have also practiced on some decorative bowls and ornamental pieces.  I enjoy watching videos on youtube from masters such as Carl Jacobson and Blair Davis

Anyway - enough waffle - I look forward to interacting with you all on the interweb and being an active part of this community.

Gary 'the bot' Claus

Offline John D Smith

• platinum
Re: New member introduction
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 08:01:07 PM »
Hi Gary, Welcome to the Forum I look forward reading your postings etc.Are you thinking of joining the Forest of Bere woodturners again.
                                                                      Regards John
John Smith

Offline BrianH

• gold
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 08:02:27 PM »
Hi Gary
Welcome back to addiction.
I always thought it was a straggly beard which was the requirement for turning success!